Power & Generators

4 Best Solar Generators for Home Backup in 2026

As an Amazon Associate, this website earns from qualifying purchases.

A portable power station on a kitchen counter with a lamp and a phone charging beside it

The short answer

A solar generator will run a fridge, lights and phones through most outages. It won't replace a whole-home standby generator.

Our top 4 picks

  1. 1Best overall for large home loadsEcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus Portable Power Station
    • 2,048Wh LiFePO4 battery, expandable with EcoFlow's extra battery packs
    • 3,000W continuous output with a 6,000W surge rating
    • About 10 output ports, including four AC outlets, three USB-C ports, a USB-A port and a 12V car outlet
    View at EcoFlowRead our analysis
  2. 2Best for the biggest capacity you can still liftJackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power StationJackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station
    • 2,042Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 4,000+ cycles to 70% capacity
    • 2,200W continuous output, 4,400W surge
    • 39.5 lb; 7 ports including 3 AC outlets and a 100W USB-C
    View on AmazonRead our analysis
  3. 3Best mid-size unit with the most connection optionsBLUETTI AC180P Portable Power Station
    • 1,440Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,500+ cycles to 80% capacity
    • 1,800W continuous output, 2,700W lifting power
    • 35.3 lb; BLUETTI rates Turbo AC charging at about 1.3-1.8 hours
    View at BLUETTIRead our analysis
  4. 4Best for apartments and smaller homesBLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable Power Station
    • 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 4,000+ cycles to 80% capacity
    • 1,800W continuous output; BLUETTI lists 2,700W lifting power (resistive loads) and up to 3,600W surge with HyperVolt
    • 11 total ports and a 30dB noise level, quiet enough to run through an overnight outage
    View at BLUETTIRead our analysis

A solar generator is a big rechargeable battery with an inverter built in. It stores power ahead of time, then puts out AC power once the grid goes down. None of the four picks below burn fuel, so none of them carry the carbon-monoxide risk a fuel generator does. This guide is part of our backup power section; see that page for the full list of guides if you're comparing a fuel generator too.

#1. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus: best overall for large home loads

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus Portable Power Station

Our verdict:

Best overall for large home loads

Best for households that want one unit for a fridge, a router, lights and device charging through a multi-day outage.

View at EcoFlow
  • 2,048Wh LiFePO4 battery, expandable with EcoFlow's extra battery packs
  • 3,000W continuous output with a 6,000W surge rating
  • About 10 output ports, including four AC outlets, three USB-C ports, a USB-A port and a 12V car outlet
  • About 48.7 lb (22.1 kg); a two-hand lift, not a grab-and-go unit

Keep in mind: it weighs close to 49 lb. Plan on a fixed spot near an outlet, not something you carry to a campsite.

Product details checked September 2026

This is the largest pick here, at 2,048Wh and 3,000W of steady output. It's built to sit in a utility room or garage, not to travel. EcoFlow's own spec page lists about 10 ports, including four AC outlets, three USB-C ports and a 12V car outlet. That's enough to split a fridge, a modem and several phones across one unit, with no power strip needed.

Standout: the highest steady wattage in this guide (3,000W, 6,000W at peak). That's enough room for a window air conditioner or a sump pump on top of the basics. EcoFlow's spec page doesn't publish a cycle-life figure for this specific model, only a general product lifespan statement, so this guide doesn't compare its battery life to the other three picks.

This is still a large battery, not a whole-home standby unit. It won't carry a house's full panel, including a well pump or central air, the way a professionally installed standby generator can. Weighing this against a fuel generator and a transfer switch instead? Our guide to power stations vs. generators walks through when each one wins.

Who should skip it: anyone who expects to move the unit often. The case weighs about 48.7 lb. The DELTA also makes little sense if your whole backup list is a CPAP, a phone and one lamp. A smaller unit is easier to place and carry for that job.

What you can add later: EcoFlow offers extra battery packs for this model. That makes the DELTA the only pick here with a stated expansion path. It lets a household add stored energy without replacing the inverter and outlets it already owns.

#2. Jackery Explorer 2000 v2: best for the biggest capacity you can still lift

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 Portable Power Station

Our verdict:

Best for the biggest capacity you can still lift

Best for households who want a second large unit, or a single unit close to EcoFlow's capacity in a lighter case.

View on Amazon
  • 2,042Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 4,000+ cycles to 70% capacity
  • 2,200W continuous output, 4,400W surge
  • 39.5 lb; 7 ports including 3 AC outlets and a 100W USB-C
  • Jackery's default AC charge is about 1.7 hours, 0-100%; its app's Emergency Super Charge mode can cut that to about 1.3 hours; solar input is capped at 400W, with no full recharge time confirmed here

Keep in mind: at 39.5 lb, it's still a two-hand carry, not something to move often.

Product details checked September 2026

The Jackery pick here holds 2,042Wh, nearly matching the DELTA 3 Max Plus, but at 39.5 lb against roughly 49 lb, per Jackery's own user manual. It puts out 2,200W steady, 4,400W at peak.

Standout: the best capacity-to-weight ratio among the two largest picks here. Jackery's own listing states a default 0-100% AC charge of about 1.7 hours; its app's Emergency Super Charge mode can cut that to about 1.3 hours. Its solar input ceiling is 400W. We could not confirm a full solar recharge time on the current maker page, so allow for that gap when planning an outage.

Who should skip it: anyone who wants to add a matching expansion battery later. Jackery does not offer one for this model. The unit can still be paired with solar panels, but its stored capacity stays at 2,042Wh.

Where it earns its place: the Explorer gives up some output next to the DELTA, yet it is about 9 lb lighter. That trade suits a household that expects to move the unit between a storage spot and the rooms where it is needed.

#3. BLUETTI AC180P: best mid-size unit with the most connection options

BLUETTI AC180P Portable Power Station

Our verdict:

Best mid-size unit with the most connection options

Best for households who want more capacity than the Elite 100 V2 without stepping up to a 2,000Wh-class unit.

View at BLUETTI
  • 1,440Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,500+ cycles to 80% capacity
  • 1,800W continuous output, 2,700W lifting power
  • 35.3 lb; BLUETTI rates Turbo AC charging at about 1.3-1.8 hours
  • 11 output ports; BLUETTI rates this unit at 45dB in its silent charging mode, louder than the Elite line

Keep in mind: BLUETTI rates this unit at 45dB in its quiet charging mode, louder than the Elite line.

Product details checked September 2026

At 1,440Wh and 35.3 lb, the AC180P sits between the largest two picks and the Elite 100 V2 below. BLUETTI's own user manual confirms 11 output ports, tying the Elite 100 V2 for the most of any pick in this guide.

Standout: BLUETTI's B80, B230 and B300 battery packs can recharge the AC180P in "Power Bank Mode," but they don't expand its own 1,440Wh capacity the way EcoFlow's extra battery packs expand the DELTA 3 Max Plus.

Who should skip it: buyers who want either the lightest case or the most stored energy in this group. The AC180P sits between those jobs. Its reason to buy is the mix of 1,440Wh, 1,800W output and 11 ports in one unit.

What to know about charging: BLUETTI states about 1.3 to 1.8 hours for an AC charge in Turbo mode. Its solar ceiling is 500W. The maker gives an ideal solar range of about 2.8 to 3.3 hours, then a longer real-use range with its own PV350 panel.

#4. BLUETTI Elite 100 V2: best for apartments and smaller homes

BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable Power Station

Our verdict:

Best for apartments and smaller homes

Best for renters or smaller households that want real backup power without a garage to store it in.

View at BLUETTI
  • 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 4,000+ cycles to 80% capacity
  • 1,800W continuous output; BLUETTI lists 2,700W lifting power (resistive loads) and up to 3,600W surge with HyperVolt
  • 11 total ports and a 30dB noise level, quiet enough to run through an overnight outage
  • 25 lb (11.5 kg); BLUETTI rates Turbo AC charging at 0-80% in 45 minutes

Keep in mind: at 1,800W steady, it won't run a window AC and a fridge at once.

Product details checked September 2026

The Elite 100 V2 packs 1,024Wh into 25 lb, the smallest capacity of the four picks here but still enough for a fridge, lights and devices. BLUETTI's own user manual confirms a 30dB noise level, quiet enough to run in the same room overnight, and 11 output ports, tying the AC180P.

Standout: at 25 lb, this has the lowest listed weight of the four picks. Check that you can safely lift that load if it must go up stairs or move between a home and a car. It also has the shorter solar recharge time of the two picks with confirmed published figures, at about 70 minutes for a full charge at its 1,000W max solar input; see the solar section below.

Who should skip it: anyone whose appliance list can exceed 1,800W at once. The Elite has less stored energy than the other home picks too. It works best when the load list is firm and the owner values a lighter case over a longer run between charges.

Why the recharge figure matters: BLUETTI pairs a 1,024Wh battery with up to 1,000W of solar input. That is why its published full-charge time is much shorter than the AC180P or Explorer 2000 v2 solar figures. Real sun still changes the result, so treat the maker's time as a best-case planning figure.

Side-by-side comparison

Capacity Steady output Surge / lifting power Weight Chemistry AC charge Expandable Warranty
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus 2,048Wh 3,000W 6,000W surge ~48.7 lb LiFePO4, cycle life not stated by EcoFlow ~64 min to 80% Yes, with EcoFlow's extra battery packs 5 years (3 base, 2 more on registration)
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 2,042Wh 2,200W 4,400W surge 39.5 lb LiFePO4, 4,000+ cycles to 70% ~1.7 h, 0-100% No add-on battery in this lineup 5 years (3 base, 2 more on registration)
BLUETTI AC180P 1,440Wh 1,800W 2,700W lifting power 35.3 lb LiFePO4, 3,500+ cycles to 80% ~1.3-1.8 h (Turbo) No (power-bank charging only) 5 years
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 1,024Wh 1,800W 2,700W lifting power (resistive loads); up to 3,600W surge with HyperVolt 25 lb LiFePO4, 4,000+ cycles to 80% 0-80% in 45 min (Turbo) Not offered for this model 5 years

Every figure above comes from the maker's own current spec page, listed in our claims ledger for this cluster. Where a maker doesn't publish a number, this table says so rather than guessing or copying a competitor's figure.

How to size a solar generator to your household

Sizing comes down to two numbers: how many watts you'll draw at once, and how many watt-hours you need to cover the outage.

Start with the appliance label. Record the running watts for every item you may use at the same time. A motor may also have a higher startup need. Compare both needs with the unit's steady and surge output. Do not use another household's fridge or pump figure as a substitute for your own label.

Turn watts into energy. Multiply each device's watts by the hours it will run. For a device that cycles on and off, use the time it actually runs. Add the watt-hours for the full load list. That total is the energy the battery must supply before it needs a recharge.

Leave margin. Rated capacity is not the same as energy delivered at the outlet. Conversion and the unit's own operation use some power. Cold or hot conditions can change the result too. Pick a battery above the bare total rather than planning to drain it to its limit.

Check output separately. Capacity tells you how long the load may run. Output tells you whether the station can start and hold that load at all. The DELTA 3 Max Plus has 3,000W of steady output and a 6,000W surge. The smaller Elite 100 V2 has 1,800W steady output and a stated lifting mode for resistive loads. Those are different jobs even before capacity enters the choice.

Use the CPAP example for a repeatable method. Our portable power station for CPAP guide starts with a named machine's maker-published draw. It then multiplies that draw by sleep time. Use the same steps for your fridge, router or medical device, but replace every input with the number on your own equipment.

Solar recharging: panel wattage vs. real recharge time

Every pick here can recharge from solar panels, and how fast depends on the unit's max solar input rating, which panels you use, and real sun conditions. These are the makers' own stated figures; where a maker hasn't published a recharge time, this table says so:

Pick Max solar input Recharge time at or near max input
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 1,000W Full charge in about 70 minutes, per BLUETTI's spec page
BLUETTI AC180P 500W About 2.8-3.3 hours in ideal sun; BLUETTI notes 3.3-4.3 hours with its own PV350 panel in real-world conditions
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 400W Full solar recharge time not confirmed on the current maker page; the input ceiling alone does not establish a charge time
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus 1,000W Not stated by EcoFlow at the time of writing

Panel output, charge limits and the energy left in the battery all affect the time needed to refill it. Of the two picks with confirmed maker-published solar times here, the Elite 100 V2 has the shorter stated time. We cannot rank it against the two unknown times. If solar matters most, check the stated test conditions as well as the input rating and battery size.

Which pick fits your situation

Renting, or need to move the unit often. Pick the BLUETTI Elite 100 V2. At 25 lb, it's the lightest of the four. It still covers a fridge, lights and devices. Most households can carry it up an apartment stairwell, or between a home and a car during an evacuation.

Own your home, want the most coverage for the worst outage. Pick the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus or Jackery Explorer 2000 v2. Both sit around 2,045Wh rated. Either one covers Scenario 1 above. The DELTA 3 Max Plus gives more steady wattage: 3,000W against 2,200W. That helps if you're running several larger appliances together.

Want more capacity than the Elite 100 V2, but not a full 2,000Wh unit. Pick the BLUETTI AC180P. It sits in between at 1,440Wh, with 11 ports. That ties the Elite 100 V2 for the most of any pick here.

Recharging mostly from solar during multi-day outages. Consider the Elite 100 V2. Its maker states about 70 minutes at its 1,000W max input, shorter than the AC180P's stated range. The other two picks lack confirmed full-charge times here, so this is not a four-way speed ranking. Your panels and weather still matter.

Warranty, support and long-term ownership

All four picks carry a stated 5-year warranty. EcoFlow and Jackery describe that term as a base period plus added cover after registration. BLUETTI states a 5-year term for both of its picks here. Save the receipt, register when the maker requires it and keep the serial number with your household records.

Cycle-life figures need careful reading. Jackery rates the Explorer 2000 v2 for more than 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity. BLUETTI rates the AC180P for more than 3,500 cycles to 80%, and the Elite 100 V2 for more than 4,000 cycles to 80%. EcoFlow does not state a cycle count for the DELTA 3 Max Plus. The end percentages differ, so the raw cycle totals are not a clean ranking.

Support also matters when a cable or app feature becomes part of the backup plan. Download the manual before an outage. Test the charging path you expect to use. If you rely on the faster app-enabled modes from EcoFlow or Jackery, set up the app while grid power and internet access are still available.

A simple outage setup check

Place the station where its cable can reach the planned loads without crossing a doorway. Match each plug to the port list before the outage. The DELTA has four AC outlets and three USB-C ports. The Explorer 2000 v2 has three AC outlets and two USB-C ports. Both BLUETTI picks have 11 ports, but the exact mix differs.

Charge the station, then run the real load list as a practice. Check whether the inverter fan, cable reach and screen are acceptable in the room where the unit will sit. A dry run also shows whether one appliance creates a startup problem that a capacity-only calculation missed.

For solar, confirm that the panels, connectors and input range match the station. A large input ceiling does not help if the panel set cannot supply it. Keep the panels and cables with the unit so the recharge path is ready as one kit.

Compare output before capacity

The DELTA 3 Max Plus leads this set on steady output at 3,000W. The Explorer 2000 v2 follows at 2,200W. Both BLUETTI picks provide 1,800W. That order may matter more than capacity when several loads start at once.

The peak figures also use different labels. EcoFlow states a 6,000W surge. Jackery states a 4,400W surge. BLUETTI gives the AC180P a 2,700W lifting mode, while the Elite 100 V2 has 2,700W lifting power for resistive loads and up to 3,600W surge with HyperVolt. Do not treat lifting power and surge as identical rows.

Write down both the steady need and any motor startup need for your load list. First remove any station that cannot support the load. Then compare capacity, weight, ports and recharge options among the stations that remain.

Frequently missed details, by pick

A few facts from the comparison table above are worth restating on their own, since they change how each unit actually gets used:

  • The DELTA 3 Max Plus is the only pick here with an expansion battery option. You can add capacity later, instead of buying a second full unit.
  • The Explorer 2000 v2 has a 400W solar input ceiling, but no full solar recharge time confirmed here. Check that limit against the panels you plan to use rather than assuming a fast refill from its battery size.
  • The AC180P cannot have its own capacity expanded. BLUETTI's B80, B230 and B300 packs only recharge it in "Power Bank Mode."
  • The Elite 100 V2 ties the AC180P on port count, 11 each, despite being the smallest and lightest pick here.

Factors to consider when choosing the best solar generator

Match capacity (Wh) to what you'll really run. Add up your real appliance list. Check the labels, not a guess. Then buy a capacity that covers your hours, with some room to spare. See the sizing section above for a worked example.

Steady output vs. surge. Steady (rated) wattage is what a unit can hold up. Surge is a short spike for a motor starting, like a fridge compressor kicking on. A unit with a big battery but low steady output can still fail to start a fridge. Makers label these numbers differently: BLUETTI splits "surge" from a sustained "Lifting Power" figure for resistive loads, so check a maker's own spec page rather than comparing a single number across brands.

Weight, and where it will live. A 49 lb unit that stays put is a different buy than a lighter unit that moves between the house, the car and a campsite. Decide which job you're buying for.

Battery chemistry and cycle life, where it's published. All four picks use LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) cells. Three of the four makers publish a cycle-life rating to a stated percentage of original capacity; EcoFlow does not publish one for the DELTA 3 Max Plus, so this guide doesn't estimate one.

Solar input, if you'll recharge outdoors. See the solar recharging section above for real recharge times at each pick's max solar rating, where the maker publishes one. Panels are sold on their own.

Ports, in detail

The port mix decides how many devices you can run at once without a power strip. Here's what each maker's own spec page lists:

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus: four AC outlets rated 20A each, one USB-A port at 18W, three USB-C ports (one at 140W, two at 45W each), one 12V DC Anderson port at 30A (378W), and one cigarette-lighter-style 12V port at 10A (126W).

Jackery Explorer 2000 v2: three AC outlets, one 12V DC car port, two USB-C ports (one at 30W, one at 100W), and one USB-A port, for seven ports total.

BLUETTI AC180P: 11 output ports total, including four AC outlets at 120V/15A, one 100W USB-C, two USB-A ports, one 12V DC outlet at 10A, and a wireless charging pad.

BLUETTI Elite 100 V2: also 11 output ports total, tying the AC180P, though BLUETTI's spec page doesn't break down the exact type of each of the 11 the way it does for the AC180P.

If you regularly charge several devices at once, especially ones needing higher-wattage USB-C fast charging, check this list against your own gear rather than assuming any two picks here are interchangeable.

Safety: carbon monoxide and battery storage

Why fuel-generator exhaust changes indoor planning. A fuel generator, even a small portable one, produces carbon monoxide. The CDC is explicit: never run one inside a home or garage, even with the doors and windows open. Keep it at least 20 feet from windows, doors and vents. Ready.gov gives the same distance.

There's a second, separate hazard too. The American Red Cross warns that backfeeding a generator into a home's wiring "puts utility workers, your neighbors and your household" at risk. Our power station vs. generator guide covers that hazard in full. Pair any fuel generator with a battery carbon monoxide alarm.

Battery power stations do not burn fuel or produce fuel-generator exhaust. That distinction does not make every use condition safe. Follow the maker's instructions for use. Follow its charging and storage guidance too.

Storing the battery itself safely. A LiFePO4 power station is far more stable than the lithium-ion cells in a phone or laptop, but it's still a lithium battery, and the US Fire Administration's battery fire safety guidance applies: keep it out of direct sunlight and out of hot cars, store it at room temperature when you can, and stop using it if you notice an unusual odor, heat, swelling or a change in shape. Store it away from anything that can burn, and buy from a maker that publishes real safety certifications rather than an unbranded listing.

More in this guide

Questions people also ask

Is a solar generator a substitute for a home backup generator?

Not a full one. A battery power station like the picks here covers small and medium loads for hours or a couple of days. It depends on capacity and what you plug in. A whole-home standby generator runs on propane or gas. A pro installs it. It is built to carry a full house panel, including a well pump and central air, for as long as fuel lasts. If you need that, look at a standby generator and a transfer switch instead. See our guide to auto transfer switches for how that connection works.

How long will a solar generator run my fridge?

It depends on the fridge's running wattage and how often its compressor cycles on, not a single average number. See the sizing section below for how to work out a real estimate for your own fridge, rather than assuming a fixed number of hours.

Can I recharge a solar generator with solar panels during an outage?

Yes. Each pick below lists a solar input rating and can recharge from matching panels in daylight. That matters most in a longer, multi-day outage. See the solar recharging section on this page for the maker-stated recharge time at each unit's max solar input, where one is published. Panels are sold on their own and are not covered in this guide.

What size should I buy?

Add up the running watts of what you want to power at once. Check the labels, don't guess. Then pick enough Wh capacity for how many hours you want covered, plus margin for the fact that a battery rarely delivers its full rated capacity. See the sizing section on this page for a worked example.

Is it safe to run a fuel generator in the garage with the door open instead?

No. The CDC says never to use a generator inside a home or garage, even with doors and windows open, and to keep it at least 20 feet from windows, doors and vents. Battery power stations do not burn fuel or produce fuel-generator exhaust. Follow the maker's instructions for use. Follow its charging and storage guidance too.

What is the best solar generator for home use?

For most households, the biggest capacity unit you can afford and still fit somewhere near an outlet, like the DELTA 3 Max Plus pick here, covers the most ground: a fridge, lights, a router and device charging together. A smaller unit is fine if you only need to cover a few essentials.

Who makes these solar generators?

EcoFlow, Jackery and BLUETTI make the four picks in this guide. Each brand publishes its own specs differently (for example, BLUETTI splits a sustained 'Lifting Power' figure from its surge rating), so this guide cites each maker's own page rather than comparing brands on a single normalized number.

Can a solar generator run a window air conditioner or a sump pump?

It depends on the unit's steady output, not just its capacity. A window AC or a sump pump can pull several hundred watts, plus a startup surge when the motor kicks on. The DELTA 3 Max Plus gives the most headroom here: 3,000W steady, 6,000W surge. Check your appliance's own nameplate for its running and surge watts before assuming any pick here can carry it.

Do I need to plug a solar generator in all the time when it's not in use?

Follow the storage instructions for your exact unit. Keep it at room temperature when you can, and inspect it before use. The US Fire Administration says to stop using a lithium battery if you notice unusual heat, odor, swelling or a change in shape.